"OMG" follows on from last month's "Final Form". Speaking about the new single, Sampa The Great says, "I personally feel that people on the continent have a duty to our family in the diaspora, to re-teach our culture, language, spirituality, ways and return our peeps to ourselves. To me "OMG" sounds like the songs we heard in our childhood. It’s broadly about flexing your culture! Loving where you’re from and even being shocked at the realisation of not knowing how dope it is to be "who you are.""

Sampa The Great's forthcoming debut album The Return will see her team up with a plethora of collaborators, including Blue Lab Beats, Boadi, Lori, Mandarin Dreams, SILENTJAY, Steam Down, Whosane, and more. The Return is also mixed by Jonwayne (Stones Throw), MsM (Skepta, Boy Better Know) and Andrei Eremin (Hiatus Kaiyote, Chet Faker).

The Return follows on from Sampa The Great's 2017 mixtape Birds and the BEE9.


  1. Mwana (feat. Mwanje Tembo, Theresa Mutale Tembo, Sunburnt Soul Choir)
  2. Freedom
  3. Wake Up (Interlude)
  4. Time’s Up (feat. Krown)
  5. Grass Is Greener
  6. Dare To Fly (feat. Ecca Vandal)
  7. Any Day (feat. Whosane)
  8. OMG
  9. Light It Up (Interlude)
  10. Final Form
  11. Heaven (feat. Whosane)
  12. Diamond In The Ruff (feat. Thando, Krown)
  13. Leading Us Home
  14. Summer (feat. Steam Down)
  15. Brand New (feat. SILENTJAY)
  16. Give Love (Interlude)
  17. The Return (feat. Thando, Jace XL, Alien, Whosane)
  18. Don’t Give Up (feat. Mandarin Dreams)
  19. Made Us Better (feat. Blue Lab Beats, Boadi, Lori)
"OMG" is out now. Sampa The Great's debut album The Return lands 13 September via Ninja Tune, and is available to pre-order now. She plays London's XOYO on 20 November. Find out more.