"Oh Dear Louis" is a sublime preview of the LP, merging Crain's uncanny lyrical knack with swooning strings and country-pop gorgeousness.

You Had Me At Goodbye was written over the course of four months in her Norman, Oklahoma home between working shifts at a pizza place.

"Oklahoma is beautiful but my relationship with it is complicated," says Crain. "There are mountains, plains, prairies, rolling hills, high deserts and plateaus, with an amazing creative community of people making beautiful visual art, interesting films and loud music. But it’s extremely Christian, conservative, and whilst people say it’s ‘friendly,’ really, people are only friendly if you’re white and aren’t dressed unconventionally. I feel welcome and alienated all at once."

Crain's fifth long-player was helped along by producer John Vanderslice (Spoon, Strand Of Oaks) and recorded in analog at Tiny Telephone in Oakland, California.


  1. Antiseptic Greeting
  2. Oh Dear Louis
  3. Loneliest Handsome Man
  4. Wise One
  5. Red Sky, Blue Mountain
  6. Smile When
  7. Betty's Eulogy
  8. Windmill Crusader
  9. When The Roses Bloom Again
  10. Wreck
You Had Me At Goodbye is out 24 March via Full Time Hobby. Pre-order now.