Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Sam Smith, Beck, Beyoncé and Pharrell scooped multiple gongs at last nights Grammy Awards ceremony, with Smith's haul including Best New Artist, Record of the Year, Song of the Year and Best Pop Vocal Album.

Perhaps predictably, Smith's world domination continued strongly, but there were a couple of welcome surprises. Beck's win for Album Of The Year may be the night's biggest upset, as the underdog beat off competition from the likes of heavy-hitters Beyoncé, Ed Sheeran, Pharrell and Sam Smith. However, Aphex Twin's accolade for Syro - Best Dance/Electronic Album - is another shocker, with the likes of Deadmau5, Little Dragon and Röyksopp & Robyn losing out.

Watch Beck's acceptance speech below; the award was presented by Prince, and Kanye West mocked his own infamous stage rush at the 2009 VMAs.

Sheeran, Iggy Azalea, Sia, Taylor Swift and The Black Keys were all up for multiple awards, but walked away with nothing.

You can watch the full awards show tonight (9 February) on Channel 4's 4Music channel at 9pm.

A selection of the night's winners can be found below; for the rest, head here.

Record Of The Year

Sam Smith - “Stay With Me” (Darkchild Version) (winner)
Iggy Azalea ft. Charli XCX - “Fancy”
Sia - “Chandelier”
Taylor Swift - “Shake It Off”
Meghan Trainor - “All About That Bass”

Song Of The Year

Sam Smith - “Stay With Me” (Darkchild Version) (winner)
Sia - “Chandelier”
Taylor Swift - “Shake It Off”
Meghan Trainor - “All About That Bass”
Hozier - “Take Me To Church”

Album Of The Year

Beck - Morning Phase (winner)
Beyoncé - Beyoncé
Ed Sheeran - X
Sam Smith - In The Lonely Hour
Pharrell Williams - G I R L

Best Rock Album

Beck - Morning Phase (winner)
Ryan Adams - Ryan Adams
The Black Keys - Turn Blue
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers - Hypnotic Eye
U2 - Songs of Innocence

Best New Artist

Sam Smith (winner)
Iggy Azalea
Brandy Clark

Best Pop Vocal Album

Sam Smith - In The Lonely Hour (winner)
Coldplay - Ghost Stories
Miley Cyrus - Bangerz
Ariana Grande - My Everything
Katy Perry - Prism
Ed Sheeran - X

Best R&B Performance

Beyoncé ft. Jay Z - “Drunk in Love” (winner)
Chris Brown ft. Usher & Rick Ross - “New Flame”
Jennifer Hudson ft. R. Kelly - “It’s Your World”
Ledisi - “Like This”
Usher - “Good Kisser”

Best Pop Solo Performance

Pharrell Williams - “Happy” (winner)
Sam Smith - “Stay With Me”
John Legend - “All of Me” (live)
Sia - “Chandelier”
Taylor Swift - “Shake It Off”

Best Rock Performance

Jack White - “Lazaretto” (winner)
Ryan Adams - “Gimme Something Good”
Arctic Monkeys - “Do I Wanna Know?”
Beck - “Blue Moon”
The Black Keys - “Fever”

Best Alternative Music Album

St. Vincent, St. Vincent (winner)
Alt-J, This Is All Yours
Arcade Fire, Reflektor
Cage the Elephant, Melophobia
Jack White, Lazaretto

Best Rock Song

Paramore - “Ain’t It Fun” (winner)
Beck - “Blue Moon”
The Black Keys - “Fever”
Ryan Adams - “Gimme Something Good”
Jack White - “Lazaretto”

Best Rap Performance

Kendrick Lamar - “I” (winner)
Childish Gambino - “305″
Drake - “0 to 100/ The Catch Up”
Eminem - “Rap God”
Lecrae - “All I Need Is You”

Best R&B Song

Beyoncé ft. Jay Z - “Drunk in Love” (Beyoncé ft. Jay Z) (winner)
Usher - “Good Kisser”
Chris Brown ft. Usher & Rick Ross - “New Flame”
Luke James ft. Rick Ross - “Options (Wolfjames Version)”
Jhené Aiko - “The Worst”

Best Rap/Sung Collaboration

Eminem ft. Rihanna - “The Monster” (winner)
Common ft. Jhené Aiko - “Black Majik”
I Love Makonnen ft. Drake, “Tuesday”
Schoolboy Q ft. BJ the Chicago Kid - “Studio”
Kanye West & Charlie Wilson - “Bound 2”

Best Rap Song

Kendrick Lamar - “I” (winner)
Nicki Minaj - “Anaconda”
Kanye West & Charlie Wilson - “Bound 2”
Wiz Khalifa - “We Dem Boyz”
Drake - “0 To 100/ The Catch Up”

Best Rap Album

Eminem - The Marshall Mathers LP2 (winner)
Iggy Azalea - The New Classic
Childish Gambino - Because the Internet
Common - Nobody’s Smiling
Schoolboy Q - Oxymoron
Wiz Khalifa - Blacc Hollywood

Best Urban Contemporary Album

Pharrell Williams - G I R L (winner)
Jhené Aiko - Sail Out
Beyoncé - Beyoncé
Chris Brown - X
Mali Music - Mali Is

Best Dance/Electronic Album

Aphex Twin - Syro (winner)
Deadmau5 - While(1<2)
Little Dragon - Nabuma Rubberband
Röyksopp & Robyn - Do It Again
Mat Zo - Damage Control

Best Music Video

Pharrell Williams - “Happy” (winner)
Arcade Fire - “We Exist”
DJ Snake and Lil Jon - “Turn Down For What”
Sia - “Chandelier”
Woodkid ft. Max Richter - “The Golden Age”

Best Dance Recording

Clean Bandit ft. Jess Glynne - “Rather Be” (winner)
Basement Jaxx ft. ETML - “Never Say Never”
Disclosure ft. Mary J. Blige - “F For You”
ZHU - “Faded”
Duke du Mont ft. Jax Jones - “I Got U”

Producer Of The year, Non-Classical

Max Martin - “Bang Bang” (Jessie J, Ariana Grande & Nicki Minaj), “Break Free” (Ariana Grande ft. Zedd), “Dark Horse” (Katy Perry ft. Juicy J), “Problem” (Ariana Grande ft. Iggy Azalea), “Shake It Off” (Taylor Swift), “Unconditionally” (Katy Perry) (winner)
Paul Epworth - “Pendulum” (FKA Twigs), “Queenie Eye (Paul McCartney), “Road” (Paul McCartney), “Save Us” (Paul McCartney)
John Hill - “All You Never Say” (Birdy), “Burning Gold” (Christina Perri), “Can’ Remember To Forget You” (Shakira ft. Rihanna), “Goldmine” (Kimbra), “Guts Over Fear” (Eminem Featuring Sia), “Strange Desire” (Bleachers), “Voices” (Phantogram), Water Fountain (tUnE-yArDs)
Jay Joyce - “About Last Night” (Sleeper Agent), “It Goes Like This” (Thomas Rhett), Melophobia (Cage The Elephant), “Montibello Memories (Matrimony), “Mountains Of Sorrow, Rivers Of Song” (Amos Lee), “The Outsiders” (Eric Church)
Greg Kurstin - “Beating Heart” (Ellie Goulding), “Chandelier” (Sia), “Double Rainbow” (Katy Perry), “Gunshot” (Lykke Li), “Money Power Glory” (Lana Del Ray), “1000 Forms Of Fear” (Sia), “Sheezus” (Lily Allen), “Wrapped In Red” (Kelly Clarkson)

Best Engineered Album (Non-Classical)

Tom Elmhirst, David Greenbaum, Florian Lagatta, Cole Marsden, Greif Neill, Robbie Nelson, Darrell Thorp, Cassidy Turbin & Joe Visciano, engineers; Bob Ludwig, mastering engineer (Beck), Morning Phase (winner)
Richard King & Dave Sinko, engineers; Robert C. Ludwig, mastering engineer (Chris Thile & Edgar Meyer), Bass & Mandolin
Ross Hogarth & Casey Wasner, engineers; Richard Dodd, mastering engineer (Keb’ Mo’), Bluesamericana
Chuck Ainlay, engineer; Gavin Lurssen, mastering engineer (Lee Ann Womack), The Way I’m Livin’
Tchad Blake, Oyvind Jakobsen, Jo Ranheim, Itai Shapiro & David Way, engineers; Bernie Grundman, mastering engineer (Thomas Dybdahl), What’s Left is Forever

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next