Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Duval Timothy Rosie Lowe press credit Jacob Hopewell

Rosie Lowe and Duval Timothy announce collaborative album with title-track "Son"

13 October 2021, 14:17 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Rosie Lowe and Duval Timothy have teamed up for a collaborative album titled Son, and have unveiled the title-track as the first outing.

Following the release of Lowe's surprise mixtape Now, You Know last month, she's returned with news of a collaborative album with Duval Timothy.

The title-track "Son" has been released today (13 October) as a first taster of the album, which was recorded between London and Freetown from 2019-2021.

Inspired by the collaborators' shared love for choral music, Son began in London with the title-track, and followed with Lowe joining Timothy in Freetown in February last year to write the rest of the project that features contributions from Daniel Koroma, Kandeh Bangura, Valentine Coker, Chino Greene and Tom Herbert.

They say of the record, "We were interested in bringing our surroundings into the recordings; leaving doors open, recording in different spaces and locations, inviting the listener to experience the life that was going on around us whilst capturing the process."


  1. Da
  2. Don
  3. Play Along
  4. He Hu
  5. Son
  6. Furah Bay
  7. Say
  8. Always
  9. Gonna Be
"Son" is out now. Rosie Lowe and Duval Timothy's collaborative album of the same name will be released 12 November via Carrying Colour, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next