Robert Plant is among those announced to appear on the new record from Maine-born and Austin-based singer-songwriter Patty Griffin.

American Kid, released on 13 May, is Griffin’s first album of (mostly) new material since 2007′s Children Running Through.

Also announced for the album are North Mississippi Allstars guitarist Luther Dickinson and drummer Cody Dickinson.

The album’s lyrical focal point is Griffin’s father, a high school science teacher who fought in World War II, lost his father young and his mother almost immediately after he returned from the war, lived for a time in a Trappist monastery before raising seven children.

Griffin joined Plant on his semi-regular side project Band of Joy in 2010 and appears on the self-titled BOJ album released that year.