Last month the 2019 Polaris Music Prize revealed 40 Canadian albums as the longlist, including artists such as Carly Rae Jepsen, Orville Peck, Dizzy, and more. The shortlist, announced today, has been narrowed down to just 10 records, with the final ceremony taking place next month.

The 2019 Polaris Music Prize Shortlist:

  1. Dominique Fils-Aimé - Stay Tuned!
  2. Elisapie - The Ballad of the Runaway Girl
  3. FET.NAT - Le Mal
  4. Haviah Mighty - 13th Floor
  5. Jessie Reyez - Being Human In Public
  6. Les Louanges - La nuit est une panthère
  7. Marie Davidson - Working Class Woman
  8. PUP - Morbid Stuff
  9. Shad - A Short Story About A War
  10. Snotty Nose Rez Kids - Trapline

Last year's Polaris Music Prize was awarded to Jeremy Dutcher.

The final Polaris Music Prize gala takes place on 16 September. Find out more.