Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

PJ Harvey announces new album The Hope Six Demolition Project

21 January 2016, 17:04 | Written by Laurence Day

PJ Harvey has announced her new record The Hope Six Demolition Project and revealed a new trailer and song.

The new single is called "The Wheel" and was debuted today on Steve Lamacq's BBC Radio 6 Music show. It's not online yet.

The album is believed to be a reference to the U.S. Department Of Housing And Urban Development plan to "revitalize the worst public housing projects". It's Harvey's ninth in total and her first since 2011's Let England Shake.

Just before Christmas we received the first taste of Harvey's new LP with a brief clip directed by Seamus Murphy, who Harvey collaborated with on their The Hollow Of The Hand project, and earlier this week we were given another brief snippet of noise.

Harvey has also been confirmed for a bunch of festivals on the continent, including Roskilde, Open'er, Way Out West, Primavera, and Øya. She's also set to perform at London's Field Day 2016.

The Hope Six Demolition Project is out 15 April via Island. It was recorded at Somerset House as part of an installation.

Watch the album trailer below, directed by Murphy, which previews both "The Wheel" and "The Community Of Hope". The LP's art and tracklist are after.


1. The Community of Hope
2. The Ministry of Defence
3. A Line in the Sand
4. Chain of Keys
5. River Anacostia
6. Near the Memorials to Vietnam and Lincoln
7. The Orange Monkey
8. Medicinals
9. The Ministry of Social Affairs
10. The Wheel
11. Dollar, Dollar

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next