Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Metallica blacklist 2021 Herring and Herring

Phoebe Bridgers, Rina Sawayama, Miley Cyrus and more will feature on Metallica covers album

22 June 2021, 15:51 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

To celebrate the 30th anniversary of The Black Album, Metallica have announced a re-release and a 53-track covers album titled The Metallica Blacklist that will feature Phoebe Bridgers, Rina Sawayama, Miley Cyrus and many more.

The reissue of Metallica's 1991 self-titled album (commonly known as The Black Album) has been remastered for the upcoming 30th anniversary in August, and alongside the re-release, Metallica have recruited some huge names for their accompanying, 53-track covers album The Metallica Blacklist.

Miley Cyrus' version of "Nothing Else Matters" featuring WATT, Elton John, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo and Chad Smith has been released today to accompany the announcement.

Other artists that will appear on The Metallica Blacklist include Phoebe Bridgers, Rina Sawayama, St. Vincent, Moses Sumney, Kamasi Washington, IDLES, Flatbush Zombies, Weezer, Mac DeMarco, PUP, J Balvin and the Neptunes, BackRoad Gee and many more.

Profits from The Metallica Blacklist will be split evenly between charities of the artist’s choice and Metallica’s All Within My Hands Foundation.

The 30th anniversary reissue of The Black Album and The Metallica Blacklist will be available digitally on 10 September. Physical copies will follow on 1 October, and are available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next