"Birthmark" is the first new song from No Joy since her 2018 collaborative EP with Pete Kember, aka Sonic Boom.

The new single arrives with a video made during quarantine that's directed by Jordan "Dr Cool" Minkoff. White-Gluz says of the visual, "We made this video while in quarantine. I filmed myself at home and asked my very talented friend Jordan to help build a world around the footage. Diavion had been dancing to No Joy on his instagram and I was a huge fan so reached out and asked him to choreograph a routine for this song. While in the studio, I wanted to keep the energy fun and throw any ideas at the wall. We ended up watching the video for "Puff Puff Give" by Hannah's Field, pulled out some bongos, a broken clarinet, drank 12 bottles of sake and did group chants."

Motherhood is the first new No Joy LP since 2015's More Faithful, and saw White-Gluz work with co-producer Jorge Elbrecht (Ariel Pink, Sky Ferreira, Japanese Breakfast). Madeleine Campbell and former Death Cab For Cutie guitarist Chris Walla worked as engineers on the album.


  1. Birthmark
  2. Dream Rats (feat. Alissa White-Gluz)
  3. Nothing Will Hurt
  4. Four
  5. Ageless
  6. Why Mothers Die
  7. Happy Bleeding
  8. Signal Lights
  9. Fish
  10. Primal Curse
  11. Kidder
"Birthmark" is out now. No Joy's Motherhood album arrives 21 August via Joyful Noise / Hand Drawn Dracula, and is available to pre-order now.