Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

MONEY announce new album Suicide Songs, detail UK tour, and share emotional lead single

27 October 2015, 12:27 | Written by Laurence Day

MONEY have announced their long-awaited second record Suicide Songs and are sharing the lead single "You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides Of The Sky".

Embellished with keys and strings, the sparse acoustic number swells into something traumatic as it wears on, hinting at a new, varied direction for MONEY. The Manchester band relocated to South London to work with producer Charlie Andrew on the album.

Frontman Jamie Lee says of the collection: "I wanted the album to sound like it was ‘coming from death’ which is where these songs emerged. The record is morbid and bleak, and never resolves itself. The only real kind of triumphant realisation is being able to express the morbidity of the situation I found myself in.”

Continuing, Lee explains the title and its importance: “It seemed to make sense for the period, since I was dabbling with an unworldly attitude toward life, though that’s changed now, but we don’t want it to come across just in a negative way. We don’t want to glorify mental illness either. Above all else, I’m just trying to project and portray a poetic truth. Suicide is about anonymity, to the point where you don’t exist, which I definitely feel in my songwriting and as a person. But rather than writing myself out of anonymity, I want to remain there, in this record at least. It’s recognising a kind of sacrificial nature, in making artistic choices. By rummaging around in your feelings and trying to make sense of life, to the detriment of your health, there might be some poetic value to what you have created.”

The band's two shows next month sold out rather sharpish, but they've got a string of shows confirmed for February, so there's plenty of chances to catch them live.

Suicide Songs is released 29 January via Bella Union. It follows acclaimed 2013 debut Shadow Of Heaven.

Stream "You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides Of The Sky" below. Check out MONEY's upcoming shows after, and the new album's


10 – MANCHESTER – Ritz
11 – NOTTINGHAM – Bodega
12 – LIVERPOOL – Leaf
14 – GLASGOW – Broadcast
15 – NEWCASTLE – Think Tank
16 – LEEDS – Belgravia
18 – BIRMINGHAM – Hare & Hounds
19 – BRISTOL – Lantern
20 – CARDIFF – Clwb Ifor Bach
22 – LONDON – Village Underground
23 – BRIGHTON – Green Door Store


1. I Am The Lord
2. I'm Not Here
3. You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides Of The Sky
4. Night Came
5. Suicide Song
6. Hopeless World
7. I'll Be The Night
8. All My Life
9. A Cocaine Christmas and an Alcoholic's New Year

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next