Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
METZ 2017 promo 01 Ebru Yildiz 2250x1500 300

METZ announce third album Strange Peace and unveil lead cut "Cellophane"

11 July 2017, 14:28 | Written by Laurence Day

METZ crank up the noise on "Cellophane", the first track from upcoming third record Strange Peace.

The Toronto-based noise merchants recorded the follow up to 2015's II live to tape at Electrical Audio with Steve Albini. Extra touches were added in their home city with longtime collaborator Graham Walsh.

"Recording in Chicago was a blast," vocalist/guitarist Alex Edkins says. "We tracked 14 songs in four days. It was the first time we felt confident enough to just play live and roll tape. Strange Peace is much more diverse and varied than anything we’ve done before, which was exhilarating, but terrifying, too. We took the tapes home to Toronto feeling like we’d made the record we wanted to make."

"The songs on Strange Peace are about uncertainty," Edkins adds. "They're about recognising that we're not always in control of our own fate, and about admitting our mistakes and fears. They're about finding some semblance of peace within the chaos."

METZ have also confirmed a series of tour dates this autumn, including shows in London, Bristol, Leeds, Brighton, Berlin, and Paris. Find out more.


  1. Mess Of Wires
  2. Drained Lake
  3. Cellophane
  4. Caterpillar
  5. Lost In The Blank City
  6. Mr. Plague
  7. Sink
  8. Common Trash
  9. Escalator Teeth
  10. Dig A Hole
  11. Raw Materials
Strange Peace is released 22 September via Sub Pop.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next