Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Lorde 0036 36 A Photo Credit Ophelia Mikkelson Jones

Lorde unveils release date and tracklist for Solar Power album

22 June 2021, 10:01 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Lorde has officially announced the release date for her long-awaited third album Solar Power, as well as revealing the full tracklist.

Earlier this month Lorde made her highly-anticipated comeback with "Solar Power", which featured backing vocals from Phoebe Bridgers and Clairo, and is also the title-track for Lorde's long-awaited third album.

Lorde discussed her follow-up to 2017's Melodrama in a newsletter to fans earlier this month, writing, "The album is a celebration of the natural world, an attempt at immortalising the deep, transcendent feelings I have when I’m outdoors. In times of heartache, grief, deep love, or confusion, I look to the natural world for answers. I’ve learnt to breathe out, and tune in. This is what came through."

Now Lorde has provided more details about Solar Power, including the full tracklist and release date.

The Jack Antonoff-produced album will also be released as a discless format to honour the environment. The "eco-conscious" music box will include handwritten notes, photos, and a card that gives fans access to a high-quality download of the album and two bonus tracks.

Lorde say of the format, "I decided early on in the process of making this album that I also wanted to create an environmentally kind, forward-thinking alternative to the CD. I wanted this Music Box product to be similar in size, shape and price to a CD, to live alongside it in a retail environment, but be something which stands apart and that’s committed to the evolving nature of a modern album."


  1. The Path
  2. Solar Power
  3. California
  4. Stoned in the Nail Salon
  5. Fallen Fruit
  6. Secrets From a Girl (Who's Seen It All)
  7. The Man with An Axe
  8. Dominoes
  9. Big Star
  10. Leader of a New Regime
  11. Mood Ring
  12. Oceanic Feeling
Solar Power will be released 20 August and is available to pre-order now. Lorde will play The Roundhouse in London on 1 and 2 June 2022. Tickets go on general sale from Friday (25 June) at 10am local time.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next