Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

London Grammar, Arctic Monkeys and Domino Records lead winners at fourth AIM awards

03 September 2014, 11:32 | Written by The Line of Best Fit

The fourth annual AIM Independent Music Awards saw London Grammar continue their triumphant rise with two wins and Arctic Monkeys picking up the Independent Album Of The Year Award.

Domino Records, their label, collected Independent Label of The Year and dan le sac Vs Scroobius Pip won VEVO’s Independent Video Of The Year Award for “You Will See Me”.

Xfm’s John Kennedy and Radio 1’s Alice Levine hosted the event, which opened with a live performance by Twin Atlantic, winners of Independent Track of The Year and Daughter - performing in honour of this year’s Pioneer Award winner Martin Mills, founder and chairman of The Beggars Group - closed the celebrations. Mills received his award from industry legends Geoff Travis (Rough Trade) and Seymour Stein (Sire Records).

The full list of winners are:

Best Live Act (in association with Songkick): Sophie Ellis-Bextor

Independent Breakthrough of The Year (sponsored by 7digital): London Grammar

Hardest Working Band or Artist (in association with Jack Daniel’s): Ghetts

Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album (in association with Xfm): Ben Watt - Hendra

Independent Album of The Year (sponsored by MixRadio): Arctic Monkeys - AM

Best Small Label (sponsored by Disc Manufacturing Services): Hyperdub

PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act: London Grammar

Special Catalogue Release of The Year (in association with Amazon Music): Various - Purple Snow: Forecasting The Minneapolis Sound

Independent Label of The Year (sponsored by Believe Digital): Domino

Independent Track of The Year (sponsored by Spotify): Twin Atlantic - “Heart & Soul”

Independent Video of The Year (sponsored by VEVO): Dan Le Sac vs Scroobius Pip - “You Will See Me”

Indie Champion Award (sponsored by CI): John Doran, The Quietus

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (in association with AIF and DIY): Barn on the Farm

Special Recognition Award: Alison Wenham, AIM Chairman and CEO

Outstanding Contribution to Music (sponsored by eMusic): Richie Hawtin

Pioneer Award: Martin Mills, Beggars Group

Innovator Award (sponsored by The Orchard): Steve Goodman aka Kode9 of Hyperdub Records

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next