Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
KELE okereke

Kele Okereke announces new album with vibrant lead single "Jungle Bunny"

04 September 2019, 10:54 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Kele Okereke has announced his new record 2042, alongside unveiling the lead offering "Jungle Bunny".

"Jungle Bunny" is Okereke's first single since releasing the Leave to Remain soundtrack earlier this year.

The track is vibrant, and sees the former Bloc Party vocalist taking hits at Kanye West in his lyrics, "He's gone full Ye / And he's starting to feel / That shit might pop off."

He later mentions living in Calabasas, where Kanye West and Kim Kardashian live, "You go home to / Your house in Calabasas / With your wife / And your kids / Safe in the knowledge / Of a gated street / Where life is sweet."

Speaking about the new single, Okereke says, "There is a history of black entertainers feeling that after they have achieved a certain level of success that they are above discussions of race but that idea is a delusion. As a person of colour living in the western world, it does not matter how much wealth one accumulates, race will follow you wherever you go. With "JUNGLE BUNNY" I wanted explore this idea: In a time of such rampant division and public racism, what is the responsibility of the black entertainer?"


  1. Jungle Bunny
  2. Past Lives (Interlude)
  3. Let England Burn
  4. St Kaepernick Wept
  5. Guava Rubicon
  6. My Business
  7. Ceiling Games
  8. Where She Came From (Interlude)
  9. Between Me And My Maker
  10. Natural Hair
  11. Cyril's Blood
  12. Secrets West 29th
  13. Catching Feelings
  14. A Day Of National Shame (Interlude)
  15. Ocean View
  16. Back Burner
"Jungle Bunny" is out now. Kele Okereke's new album 2042 will be released 8 November via his own label KOLA Records in association with !K7, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next