Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Keaton henson six lethargies

Keaton Henson shares "Initium", the opening piece from upcoming album Six Lethargies

27 September 2019, 12:27 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Keaton Henson has unveiled new track "Initium", the opening song from his forthcoming Six Lethargies album.

The expansive, nearly 10-minute-long track arrives with a pensive visual to heighten the impact of the music.

Speaking about the video and how it connects to "Initium", Henson explains, "Shot in one unbroken take, with nature somehow perfectly mirroring the changes in the music, the film for "Initium" is a visual representation of the unrelenting struggle to see past current traumas and the desperate attempt to keep your head above water. It is designed to heighten the effects of the music, adding further subconscious responses to an already effecting experience. And in spite of being so seemingly simple, when watched fully can be profoundly moving, as a perfect expressionistic representation of a humans desperate attempts to stay afloat and breathe among the chaos."

Henson announced his classical album Six Lethargies earlier this month. The record will feature six pieces written by Henson, which are performed by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra.

Six Lethargies explores themes such as trauma, empathy, mental illness, and the relationship between music and emotion. Henson developed the project intensely over the space of three years, attaching his personal experiences to the record.


  1. Initium
  2. The Falling
  3. Trauma In Chaos
  4. Unease Concerto
  5. Unease Concerto – Cadenza
  6. Lament
  7. Breathing Out
"Initium" is out now. Keaton Henson's classical album Six Lethargies will be released later this year.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next