"Family" is Rakei's first new outing since his Late Night Tales: Jordan Rakei compilation landed in April, and is a song that he says is lyrically "the most personal" he’s ever been. Rakei adds, "I wanted to hit my vulnerability barrier and be really honest. It’s about my parents’ divorce in my mid-teens but still having love for them no matter what."

What We Call Life will follow Rakei's 2019 album Origin.

"As we worked through it, it made me realise I would love to talk about the different lessons I learned from therapy in my music," Rakei explains. "About my early childhood, my relationship with my parents and siblings, becoming independent in London, being in a new marriage, understanding how my marriage compares to the relationship my parents had."


  1. Family
  2. Send My Love
  3. Illusion
  4. Unguarded
  5. Clouds
  6. What We Call Life
  7. Runaway
  8. Wings
  9. Brace
  10. The Flood
"Family" is out now. Jordan Rakei's What We Call Life album will arrive 17 September via Ninja Tune, and is available to pre-order now. He's due to play London's O2 Academy Brixton on 26 April 2022. Tickets go on general sale at 10am BST on 2 July at jordanrakei.com.