Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
John grant apollo1115 bc10

John Grant and Wrangler detail collaborative album, share first single "Pink Squirrel"

11 December 2017, 14:11 | Written by Laurence Day

John Grant and Wrangler have teamed up as Creep Show for new album Mr Dynamite, and they've shared first single "Pink Squirrel".

Grant and Wrangler (Stephen Mallinder, Phil Winter, and Benge) came together in 2016 during the Rough Trade birthday celebrations at the Barbican, working on a full set of new material for the performance together instead of relying on previously released music.

"[Creep Show] sprang fully formed a couple of years ago but in truth had been bubbling away for decades in a petri dish containing spores of '70s sci-fi, post-punk electronic music, bad taste, broken synthesizers, luscious film soundtracks, and dubious band T-shirts..." explains Mallinder. "Creep Show is Hydra; a beast with multiple heads and voices, so no one is quite sure who is saying and doing what. Everything is permitted and everything is possible."

"I do like theatre of the absurd and some of it is that, but most of it is just having fun," adds Grant. "We did a lot of laughing and just had a blast doing it."

Mr Dynamite was recorded in Cornwall using Benge's array of synths and drum machines.


  1. Mr Dynamite
  2. Modern Parenting
  3. Tokyo Metro
  4. Endangered Species
  5. K Mart Johnny
  6. Pink Squirrel
  7. Lime Ricky
  8. Fall
  9. Safe and Sound
Mr Dynamite is out 16 March 2018 via Bella Union.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next