"Waiting" follows last month's "Be Somebody" collaboration with Rudimental, and is accompanied by news of McMorrow's forthcoming album Grapefruit Season, which will feature his earlier outings "Headlights", Kenny Beats collaboration "I Should Go" and the Paul Epworth-produced "Gone".

Grapefruit Season will follow his 2017 album True Care, and was largely recorded before the pandemic between London, Los Angeles and Dublin, featuring production from Paul Epworth, Kenny Beats, Lil Silva and Patrick Wimberly (Chairlift).

McMorrow says, "Every time a new song or album comes out, I get a mail asking me to put together some thoughts on the songs and how they came together, where they came from, what they mean. The truth is I just live my life, the songs come when they come, and they come from wherever they come from. Then once they're done I start worrying about if they're good enough, if I mean enough to make them good enough."

"This last year has been a massive lesson in patience for all of us," he continues. "But I don’t feel any more patient than I did before, in fact the opposite, I feel impatient. I had this album finished last year and then the world stopped and I had to stop. I remember sitting in my car crying after I heard that we'd be parking the work until 2021, and then I wrote "Waiting." It’s a song about feeling sorry for myself, and then going home and talking to the one person in my life who understands just how awkward a fit all of this is for me, and who loves me for the actual human I am and not what I curate in order to feel like the person I need to be."

McMorrow adds, "I don’t know if any of this makes any sense - but Grapefruit Season is about embracing the idea nothing makes sense. None of it is supposed to be linear. Music isn't some holy grail to a greater meaning, it's supposed to remove you from where you are for a moment and take you somewhere else. And I'm not saying that isn't a transcendent thing, because when it's done well it truly is. And I believe/hope I have done it well with this album. I'm just saying that at the end of the day, music is a simple idea unadorned idea that doesn't need bells and whistles to make it work.... unless you're making an album where the only instruments are bells and whistles, then you definitely need them to make it work."


  1. Paradise
  2. Gone
  3. Planes In The Sky
  4. Tru Love
  5. Waiting
  6. Poison To You
  7. We Don’t Kiss Under Umbrellas Like We Used To
  8. A House and a River
  9. Hollywood & Vine
  10. Cliché
  11. Headlights
  12. I Should Go
  13. Grapefruit
  14. Part of Me
"Waiting" is out now. James Vincent McMorrow's Grapefruit Season album will land via Columbia Records on 16 July, and is available to pre-order now.