The first ever Scottish Album of the Year Award has today unveiled its highly anticipated shortlist! Arranged by the Scottish Music Industry Association in order to celebrate the vast amount of exceptional music being created in Scotland, the SAY award aims to highlight not only the quality of music being produced in the country, but also the vast array of styles and genres.

From a long list of 20, a panel of judges (including The Line of Best Fit’s very own Features Ed, Francine Gorman) were invited to select nine albums to be considered for the competition prize, and a final tenth album was selected by a public vote.

The winner of the inaugral award will be announced at a ceremony in Glasgow on 19 June, where the creator of the winning album will receive a £20,000 prize with each of the nine runners up receiving a prize of £1,000.

So, without further ado, the Scottish Album of the Year Award 2012 short list is as follows:

Bill Wells & Aidan MoffatEverything’s Getting Older
Conquering Animal SoundKammerspiel
Happy ParticlesUnder Sleeping Waves
King Creosote & Jon HopkinsDiamond Mine
MogwaiHardcore Will Never Die, But You Will
Mungo’s Hi FiForward Ever  
Remember RememberThe Quickening
RustieGlass Swords
Tommy SmithKarma
Twin AtlanticFree (Public Vote Winners)