Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
IDLES Credit Tom Ham

IDLES announce third album with lead cut "Grounds"

16 June 2020, 18:01 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

IDLES are back with details of their highly-anticipated third album Ultra Mono, and have shared the lead single "Grounds".

"Grounds" is the second single to be shared from Ultra Mono, after last month's "Mr. Motivator".

Vocalist Joe Talbot says of their new outing, "We wanted to write a song that embodied self-belief, and gave us self-belief - a counter-punch to all the doubt we build up from all the noise we so easily let in. We wanted to make the sound of our own hearts' marching band, armed with a jack hammer and a smile. We wanted to make the sound of our engine starting. So we did. Thank you."

Ultra Mono will follow on from IDLES' 2019's Mercury Prize-nominated album Joy as an Act of Resistence. It was recorded in Paris with producers Nick Launay (Nick Cave, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Arcade Fire) and Adam 'Atom' Greenspan (Anna Calvi, Cut Copy), with Kenny Beats (FKA Twigs, DaBaby, Vince Staples) providing additional programming, and features a collaboration with Jehnny Beth.


  1. War
  2. Grounds
  3. Mr. Motivator
  4. Anxiety
  5. Kill Them With Kindness
  6. Model Village
  7. Ne Touche Pas Moi (feat. Jehnny Beth)
  8. Carcinogenic
  9. Reigns
  10. The Lover
  11. A Hymn
  12. Danke
"Grounds" is out now. IDLES' Ultra Mono album arrives 25 September via Partisan Records, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next