Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Hot snakes rick froberg jan18

Hot Snakes announce Jericho Sirens, their first album in 14 years

18 January 2018, 17:31 | Written by Laurence Day

Hot Snakes have detailed Jericho Sirens, their first album in 14 years, and shared lead single "Six Wave Hold-Down".

We've already heard most of another preview - 78-second track "Why Don't It Sink In?", which Hot Snakes teased earlier this month. Check out the slightly longer first single proper below:

"I considered stopping playing guitar on a social media poll after I completely mastered the instrument," the band's Swami John Reis (Pitchfork, Drive Like Jehu) says of Hot Snakes' return. "But so many people kept sending me letters and voicemail messages, asking me at the dry cleaners, or the butcher shop to bring back Hot Snakes. They were missing rock and roll music. I’ve always considered Hot Snakes to be more in the vein of the proto-Vog movement of the early '70s. But to these people, this is their rock 'n' roll. I understand that. I totally understand people's desire to be controlled and humiliated by my guitar. Anyone can play the stupid guitar. What they want is for me to use it as a branding iron."

The San Diego-based outfit recorded the LP in their home city and Philadelphia during "short bursts" with bassist Gar Wood and drummers Jason Kourkounis and Mario Rubalcaba.

Hot Snakes are also reissuing their other three records - Automatic Midnight, Suicide Invoice, and Audit In Progress - on 19 January via Sub Pop.

The group play a slew of UK and North American dates from this month, kicking off in Manchester on 25 January. Find out more.


  1. I Need A Doctor
  2. Candid Cameras
  3. Why Don't It Sink In?
  4. Six Wave Hold-Down
  5. Jericho Sirens
  6. Death Camp Fantasy
  7. Having Another?
  8. Death Doula
  9. Psychoactive
  10. Death Of A Sportsman
Jericho Sirens is out 16 March via Sub Pop.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next