Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Hear "Old Skool", the first single from Metronomy's new record Summer 08

12 May 2016, 08:55 | Written by Laurence Day

Metronomy have announced their new album Summer 08 and shared the first single "Old Skool".

The album is written, produced, and played by frontman Joe Mount, and features Beastie Boys turntablist Mix Master Mike on "Old Skool". Swedish pop star Robyn appears on "Hang Me Out To Dry", which was mixed by Erol Alkan - an early draft of the track was recorded for The English Riviera, but has only taken shape for Mount's latest endeavour.

Speaking about the new record, Mount says: “I had those other albums – and how I wanted to record in bigger studios – out of my system. I wanted to make another record with the naivety of Nights Out: ten tracks, straight up, upbeat. Write another banger, then another, and don’t really think about it.”

Dawn Shadforth directs the video for lead single "Old Skool" - a bass-heavy dance-pop haymaker - which stars Sharon Horgan (Catastrophe) and Ben Crompton (Game Of Thrones).

Summer 08 is out 1 July via Because Music, and is available to pre-order now. It follows 2013's Love Letters.

Check out "Old Skool" below. The LP's tracklist is after.


1. Back Together
2. Miami Logic
3. Old Skool (with Mix Master Mike)
4. 16 Beat
5. Hang Me Out To Dry (with Robyn)
6. Mick Slow
7. My House
8. Night Owl
9. Love's Not an Obstacle
10. Summer Jam

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next