Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Grouper announces new album Ruins

14 August 2014, 16:14 | Written by Luke Morgan Britton

​Ambient musician Grouper has unveiled details of her next album release.

​Following on from last year’s The Man Who Died In His Boat, Liz Harris will drop Ruins on 31 October via Kranky.

“Ruins was made in Aljezur, Portugal in 2011 on a residency set up by Galeria Zé dos Bois,” Harris says of the LP.

“I recorded everything there except the last song, which I did at mother’s house in 2004. Iʼm still surprised by what I wound up with. It was the first time Iʼd sat still for a few years; processed a lot of political anger and emotional garbage. Recorded pretty simply, with a portable 4-track, Sony stereo mic and an upright piano. When I wasnʼt recording songs I was hiking several miles to the beach. The path wound through the ruins of several old estates and a small village.”

“The album is a document. A nod to that daily walk. Failed structures. Living in the remains of love. I left the songs the way they came (microwave beep from when power went out after a storm); I hope that the album bears some resemblance to the place that I was in.”

Check out its artwork and tracklisting below:

1 Made of Metal
2 Clearing
3 Call Across Rooms
4 Labyrinth
5 Lighthouse
6 Holofernes
7 Holding
8 Made of Air

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next