Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Ex-Girls frontman Christopher Owens announces solo album

25 October 2012, 15:22 | Written by Luke Morgan Britton


Former Girls frontman Christopher Owens has announced the release of his solo album debut.

Last month, we reported that the singer had been prepping new material and now a release has come to fruition.

The record, entitled Lysandre, is scheduled for release on 15 January 2013 via Fat Possum and Turnstile.

Owens said the following of the LP:

“A coming of age story, a road trip story, a love story. Lysandre could easily be mistaken as an album about a love affair. But it’s much more than that.”

The tracklist appears as below:

1. Lysandre’s Theme
2. Here We Go
3. New York City
4. A Broken Heart
5. Here We Go Again
6. Riviera Rock
7. Love Is In The Ear Of The Listener
8. Lysandre
9. Everywhere You Knew
10. Closing Theme
11. Part Of Me (Lysandre’s Epilogue)

The San Fran musician’s band announced their split back in July, with Owens releasing the following statement:

“This may come as a surprise to many & has been an issue of much thought for me. My decision was not easy to make. I am leaving Girls. My reasons at this time are personal. I need to do this in order to progress. I will continue to write & record music. More will be announced soon. I thank you all for everything.”

Since then, Owens has been writing, spending time with family and finding spare moments to model for Yves Saint Laurent in their new collection.

You can stream two new tracks below via Soundcloud, and pre-order the whole thing here.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next