Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Emeli Sandé announces new album, shares lead single "Hurts"

16 September 2016, 10:00 | Written by Laurence Day

Pop sensation Emeli Sandé is back - and here's "Hurts", the first single from eagerly awaited new record Long Live the Angels.

The album will arrive four years on from the massively successful Our Version Of Events.

“Sounds a bit dramatic but I just wanted to disappear. I just had this overwhelming sensation and realisation everything had to stop..." says Sandé. "...and then slowly it did. I’m proud of my first album and thankful for the experiences it gave me. But I’m so much happier with my new album and with where I am in life.”

Jay Electronica, Áine Zion, dad Joel Sandé and The Serenje Choir all feature on the record, which stretches to 15 tracks.

“This entire album is about me not holding back and not censoring myself, and ‘Hurts’ is an explosion, it’s just…real talk,” adds Sandé of the new single.

Long Live The Angels is released 11 November. A deluxe version will come with three extra tracks.

Check out "Hurts" below, and see the album's tracklist after.


  1. Selah
  2. Breathing Underwater
  3. Happen
  4. Hurts
  5. Give Me Something
  6. Right Now
  7. Shakes
  8. Garden (ft. Jay Electronica & Áine Zion)
  9. I’d Rather Not
  10. Lonely
  11. Sweet Architect
  12. Tenderly (ft. Joel Sandé and The Serenje Choir)
  13. Every Single Little Piece
  14. Highs and Lows
  15. Babe
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next