Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Douglas Dare announces new album Aforger, shares lead single "Doublethink"

26 July 2016, 16:54 | Written by Laurence Day

Douglas Dare is back with news of LP2 Aforger and a stunning lead single called "Doublethink".

London-based artist Dare released debut record Whelm in 2014 to widespread acclaim - now he's back after a long period of touring with "Doublethink", an impressive piano-led track

Speaking about Aforger: Dare says: “The album title plays with the idea of a forger – someone creating imitations or copies, and reimagines them as the creator of something that’s no longer real. Prior to writing the record, I came out to my father and came out of a long relationship, both were hugely challenging for me and questioned my idea of identity and reality. These thoughts leaked out into the record and formed the core of Aforger. I was determined not to write a break-up album or repeat what I’d done before.”

Continuing, explaining the ideas behind "Doublethink", Dare says: “After finding out my boyfriend had been leading this double-life, I became obsessed with the question of what is real and George Orwell’s 1984 felt appropriate for me to re-read. Orwell explains this idea of reality control and Doublethink, and it struck a chord with me. The idea that truth can be steered or changed, and we might be able to believe two contradictory things at once. In my case, ignorance was my protection from the truth and ignorance really is bliss, until you’re no longer ignorant.”

Aforger is released 14 October by Erased Tapes.

Watch Dare perform "Nile" in session for us.

Stream "Doublethink" below and find the tracklist after.


1. Doublethink
2. Greenhouse
3. Oh Father
4. New York
5. The Edge
6. Binary
7. Stranger
8. Venus
9. Thinking Of Him
10. Rex

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next