Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Django Django Fiona Garden oct17

Django Django announce new record Marble Skies and share lead single "Tic Tac Toe"

10 October 2017, 10:04 | Written by Laurence Day

Django Django have returned with "Tic Tac Toe", the first single from upcoming third album Marble Skies.

The band's LP - which follows 2015's Born Under Saturn and their Mercury-nominated 2012 debut - was semi-confirmed back in August when the band posted a preview and interview published in Mojo. Although we had some details, we didn't have the gyrating chaos of "Tic Tac Toe" to contend with.

Slow West director John Maclean (brother of Django Django drummer/producer David) helms the visuals for "Tic Tac Toe", and explains: "The film could be about the fading era of the beach arcades, time moving too fast, love and games, horror and happiness, but it is actually about a man who needs to go buy a pint of milk to make a cup of tea."

Rebecca Taylor (Slow Club, Self Esteem) guests on the album's "Surface To Air", while Czech-born composer/artist Jan Hammer (Miami Vice) given writing credits on "Sundials". Marble Skies will be out on all the usual formats, with Rough Trade stocking and exclusive "extended" edition featuring the full album alongside a bonus 12" and CD with dub mixes from producer Wrongtom.

Django Django play two dates next month - one at Paris' La Gaîté Lyrique (Les Inrocks festival) and another at Edinburgh's Assembly Rooms for the Alternative Peers' Ball.


  1. Marble Skies
  2. Surface To Air
  3. Champagne
  4. Tic Tac Toe
  5. Further
  6. Sundials
  7. Beam Me Up
  8. In Your Beat
  9. Real Gone
  10. Fountains
Marble Skies is out 26 January 2018 via Because Music.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next