Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Yoko ono update credit yoko ono

David Byrne and Yo La Tengo cover "Who Has Seen The Wind?" for new Yoko Ono tribute album

05 January 2022, 10:50 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

A new compilation album celebrating Yoko Ono, curated by Death Cab For Cutie's Benjamin Gibbard, titled Ocean Child: Songs of Yoko Ono has been announced, and the first outing sees David Byrne and Yo La Tengo cover "Who Has Seen The Wind?".

Byrne and Yo La Tengo's version of Yoko Ono's "Who Has Seen The Wind?" is the first of 14 covers featured on Ocean Child: Songs of Yoko Ono, which was curated by Benjamin Gibbard of Death Cab For Cutie.

The compilation album will also feature contributions from Sharon Van Etten, Japanese Breakfast, The Flaming Lips, Deerhoof, Jay Som, Death Cab For Cutie, Sudan Archives and more.

A portion of proceeds from the album will be donated to WhyHunger, a non-profit organisation Ono has supported for decades.

Gibbard said the tribute compilation album "was born out of both love and frustration. The 'love' part is pretty obvious; It is the seemingly bottomless well of inspiration and enjoyment Yoko Ono’s music has provided me and I must assume everyone else present here on this compilation. The ‘frustration’ part, on the other hand, goes back decades."

"As an advocate, the tallest hurdle to clear has always been the public’s ignorance as to the breadth of Yoko’s work," Gibbard continued. "To put it into context; This is an artist whose output has run the gamut from avant-garde to bubblegum pop, often across a single album. For years, it has been my position that her songwriting has been criminally overlooked. She has consistently created melodies as memorable as those of best pop writers. As a lyricist, she has always written with poignance, sophistication and deep introspection."

He added, "Some of her best songs have been covered and compiled here by a generation-spanning group of musicians for whom her work has meant so much. It is my sincere hope that a new crop of Yoko Ono fans fall in love with her songwriting due in some small part to this album we have put together."

The album will also be accompanied by a podcast hosted by Gibbard and Jenny Eliscu, which will feature in-depth conversations about Ono's music with the artists featured on the album.


  1. Toyboat - Sharon Van Etten
  2. Who Has Seen The Wind? - David Byrne And Yo La Tengo
  3. Dogtown - Sudan Archives
  4. Waiting For The Sunrise - Death Cab For Cutie
  5. Yellow Girl (Stand For Life) - Thao
  6. Born In A Prison - US Girls
  7. Growing Pain - Jay Som
  8. Listen, The Snow Is Falling - Stephin Merritt (of Magnetic Fields)
  9. No No No - Deerhoof
  10. Don't Be Scared - We Are KING
  11. Mrs Lennon - The Flaming Lips
  12. No One Sees Me Like You Do - Japanese Breakfast
  13. There Is No Goodbye Between Us - Yo La Tengo
  14. Run Run Run - Amber Coffman
Dabid Byrne and Yo La Tengo's cover of "Who Has Seen The Wind?" is out now. Ocean Child: Songs of Yoko Ono will arrive 18 February via Canvasback Music / Atlantic Records.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next