Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Daughn Gibson announces new album Carnation, shares "Shatter You Through"

13 March 2015, 17:22 | Written by Laurence Day

Daughn Gibson has announced details of his new album Carnation, and shared lead single "Shatter You Through".

Explaining it's relevance to his canon, the alt. country singer-songwriter says: “In distinction from my other records, I think this has a sense of malign opulence... that is to say, darker and more elegant and sophisticated than my previous outings. If All Hell was candy, and Me Moangourmet beef jerky, then Carnation is delicious melon.”

It's been described as "sexual at times, but also emotionally intense and comforting in others", and sees Gibson reach the pinnacle of his storytelling game, giving subtle nods to the likes of Tim Burton and John Waters.

It has been produced by Gibson himself alongside Randall Dunn (Earth, Sunn O))), Tim Hecker).

Carnation is out 8 June on Sub Pop. A strictly limited 'Loser Edition' on swirled white, black and blue vinyl will be available from independent record stores.

Stream "Shatter You Through" below.


1. Bled to Death
2. Heaven You Better Come In
3. Shatter You Through
4. For Every Bite
5. Daddy I Cut My Hair
6. A Rope Ain’t Enough
7. I Let Him Deal
8. Shine of the Night
9. Runaway and the Pyro
10. It Wants Everything
11. Back With the Family

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next