Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Daniel Romano, PUP, Dilly Dally, and Justin Bieber are on the Polaris Prize longlist

16 June 2016, 18:09 | Written by Laurence Day

40 albums are in the running for the Polaris Music Prize, including records by Carly Rae Jepsen, Drake, Daniel Romano, and Destroyer.

Justin Bieber, PUP, Dilly Dally, White Lung, and Grimes have also made the longlist, which this year features 21 first-time nominees.

Last year's prize was scooped by Buffy Sainte-Marie.

This year's longlist means that Basia Bulat and Drake join The New Pornographers, Joel Plaskett, and Patrick Watson as the only acts who’ve been nominated on four separate occasions. Black Mountain, Coeur de pirate, Destroyer, Junior Boys, Daniel Romano, and The Weeknd have moved up to three nominations each.

The 10 album shortlist will be revealed on 14 July, with the final ceremony on 19 September in Toronto.

Art Bergmann — The Apostate
Justin Bieber — Purpose
Black Mountain — IV
Jean-Michel Blais — II
Basia Bulat — Good Advice
Daniel Caesar — Pilgrim’s Paradise
Tanika Charles — Soul Run
City and Colour — If I Should Go Before You
Coeur de pirate — Roses
Dead Obies — Gesamtkunstwerk
Destroyer — Poison Season
Dilly Dally — Sore
Drake — VIEWS
Essaie pas — Demain est une autre nuit
Fred Fortin — Ultramarr
FOXTROTT — A Taller Us
Grimes — Art Angels
Half Moon Run — Sun Leads Me On
Veda Hille — Love Waves
Jazz Cartier — Hotel Paranoia
Carly Rae Jepsen — E•MO•TION
Junior Boys — Big Black Coat
Kaytranada — 99.9%
Jessy Lanza — Oh No
Majid Jordan — Majid Jordan
Michelle McAdorey — Into Her Future
Nap Eyes — Thought Rock Fish Scale
Safia Nolin — Limoilou
Operators — Blue Wave
Peaches — Rub
PUP — The Dream Is Over
Daniel Romano — Mosey
Andy Shauf — The Party
The Strumbellas — HOPE
Suuns — Hold/Still
U.S. Girls — Half Free
Un Blonde — Good Will Come To You
The Weeknd — Beauty Behind the Madness
White Lung — Paradise
Donovan Woods — Hard Settle, Ain’t Troubled

The prize's small print reads: "The eligibility period for the 2016 Polaris Music Prize runs from 1 June 1 2015 to 31 May 2016. An independent jury of music journalists, broadcasters and music bloggers from across Canada determines the Long List and Short List. Eleven people are selected from the larger jury pool to serve on the Grand Jury and they will convene the night of the Polaris Gala to select the 2016 Polaris Music Prize winner. The Polaris Music Prize will award $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year. Each of the nine other short listed artists will receive $3,000 courtesy of Slaight Music."

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next