Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Connan mockasin jassbusters 2 press no credit given

Connan Mockasin announces Jassbusters Two album with lead single "Flipping Poles"

28 September 2021, 16:13 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Connan Mockasin has announced Jassbusters Two, the follow-up to 2018's Jassbusters album, and has unveiled "Flipping Poles" as the first outing.

"Flipping Poles" is the lead single from Jassbusters Two, and marks Mockasin's first new outing since teaming up with his father Ade Mockasin for a collaborative album titled It's Just The Wind in July.

Jassbusters Two is the sequel to 2018's Jassbusters album, and was once again recorded by a "fictional band of school teachers" that feature on Mockasin's Bost’n ‘n Dobs’n miniseries.

The new album was recorded the year after Jassbusters, in 2017, at Gary’s Electric Studio in Brooklyn instead of Paris' Studios Ferber. Mockasin says, "Jassbusters was the first record I’d done as a band. I really enjoyed it, and wanted to make more music while we were still in character as this group of music teachers."

Mockasin adds, "I was playing the role of the guitar teacher in the band, who was pushed into being the singer who didn't have lyrics. So, like the first Jassbusters record, the lyrics were improvised, blurted out."


  1. Jass Two
  2. K is for Klassical
  3. Flipping Poles
  4. In Tune
  5. Maori Honey
  6. She’s My Lady
  7. Shaved Buckley
"Flipping Poles" is out now. Connan Mockasin's Jassbusters Two album will arrive 5 November via Mexican Summer, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next