Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Lost horizons jul17

Cocteau Twins' Simon Raymonde and Richie Thomas of Dif Juz announce debut album as Lost Horizons

10 July 2017, 12:12 | Written by Laurence Day

Lost Horizons have announced debut record Ojalá and shared lead single "The Places We've Been" featuring Karen Peris on vocal duties.

The duo features two musical heavyweights - drummer Richie Thomas (Dif Juz) and Simon Raymonde (bassist of Cocteau Twins and boss of record label Bella Union) - as the core, with an extensive cast of special guests helping out on the LP. Marissa Nadler, Tim Smith (Midliake), Cameron Neil (Horse Thief), Sharon Van Etten, Hilang Child, Leila Moss (The Duke Spirit), and more all contribute.

Both Thomas and Raymonde have been on an extended breather from making music (although the latter has made the odd noise and even released a record in 2014 as part of Snowbird), but the pair have remained close since the '80s.

"The business side of music became too painful," recalls Thomas of his break. "I had too much love for music that wasn't returned. But Simon has music in his heart and soul, he’s extremely talented, and I wanted to get him making music again. And when the idea of jamming together came up again, I got really excited, which I hadn’t felt about music in ages."

"It must feel like fun, never a chore, and it had to be improvised," Raymonde says, discussing their initial sessions in a London studio. "If it never became a record, it didn’t matter. It was all about recapturing that feeling when you're 15, making music with friends... it had to be about the moment, about what felt right."


  1. Bones
  2. The Places We’ve Been
  3. Amber Sky
  4. Asphyxia
  5. Reckless
  6. She Led Me Away
  7. Frenzy, Fear
  8. The Tide
  9. I Saw The Days Go By
  10. Give Your Heart Away
  11. Score The Sky
  12. Life Inside A Paradox
  13. The Engine
  14. Winter’s Approaching
  15. Stampede
Ojalá is out 3 November via Bella Union.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next