Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Circa waves sad happy

Circa Waves announce second album of the year with opening track "Jacqueline"

20 November 2019, 14:44 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Circa Waves have announced their second album of 2019 Sad Happy, as well as sharing the opening track "Jacqueline".

"Jacqueline" is the group's first single since releasing their What's The Left Over There EP.

Their forthcoming Sad Happy album will be their fourth LP, and second of 2019, after April's What's It Like Over There?. It's also split into two halves, the first of which, Happy, will be released digitally in January 2020, and the second half, Sad, will drop in March 2020.

Circa Waves' Kieran Shudall says of the new record, "We live in a world split into two extreme halves. One moment you’re filled with the existential crisis of climate doom and the next you’re distracted by another piece of inconsequential content that has you laughing aloud. I find this close proximity of immense sadness and happiness so jarring, bizarre and fascinating. Our brains rattle back and forth through emotions at such a rate that happiness and sadness no longer feel mutually exclusive. This idea was the blueprint for Sad Happy and is the theme that underpins the album. Sad Happy is written in my Liverpool home, it’s also hugely inspired by my surroundings and the love I have for the city. It runs through thoughts on mortality, love and observations of people."



  1. Jacqueline
  2. Be Your Drug
  3. Move to San Francisco
  4. Wasted On You
  5. The Things We Knew Last Night
  6. Call Your Name
  7. Love You More


  1. Sad Happy
  2. Wake Up Call
  3. Sympathy
  4. Battered & Bruised
  5. Hope There’s a Heaven
  6. Train to Lime Street
  7. Birthday Cake
"Jacqueline" is out now. Circa Waves' Happy side of the album lands on streaming platforms on 10 January 2020, while Sad will be released on 13 March 2020. It's available to pre-order now via Prolifica Inc /[PIAS].
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next