Those knocked out of the running include METZ, Lydia Ainsworth, Arkells and Patrick Watson.

The shortlist is found below.

Alvvays – Alvvays
BADBADNOTGOOD & Ghostface Killah – Sour Soul
Braids – Deep In The Iris
Caribou – Our Love
Jennifer Castle – Pink City
Drake – If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late
Tobias Jesso Jr. – Goon
The New Pornographers – Brill Bruisers
Buffy Sainte-Marie – Power In The Blood
Viet Cong – Viet Cong

Tanya Tagaq took last year's prize home for her LP Animism.

All shortlisted artists are set to bag $3,000, while the eventual winner nab $50,000 when they're crowned on 21 September.