Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Bully Angelina Castillo

Bully announces first album in three years with electrifying lead single "Where To Start"

11 June 2020, 16:38 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Bully, aka Alicia Bognanno, is back with details of her first album in three years, SUGAREGG, and has released the lead single "Where To Start".

"Where To Start" is the first new release from Bully since her two-song release of Orville Peck and Nirvana covers that dropped in May.

Speaking about the new song to Rolling Stone, Bognanno says, "I was listening to "Tubthumping" by Chumbawamba and picking apart the melodic structure and sort of trying to mimic that. I’m not even joking; it still makes me laugh to think about. But let’s be real, that is undeniably a solid song. "Where to Start" addresses the frustration that comes along with love having the ability to fully control your mood and mental state for better or worse. It was therapeutic to funnel some lightheartedness into what can be an otherwise draining state of mind."

The 12 tracks that make up SUGAREGG were recorded and mixed by John Congleton, and features additional production and mixing by Graham Walsh. The album was recorded between Pachyderm Studios in Cannon Falls, Minnesota and Palace Sound in Toronto, Ontario.

Bognanno says of the LP, "There was change that needed to happen and it happened on this record. Derailing my ego and insecurities allowed me to give these songs the attention they deserved."

She adds, "This is me longing to see the bigger picture, motivated and eager for contentment in the best way. I hope the happy go lucky / fuck-it-all attitude shines through some of these songs because I really did feel like I was reentering a place I hadn’t been to in a while and was excited to be back there."


  1. Add It On
  2. Every Tradition
  3. Where To Start
  4. Prism
  5. You
  6. Let You
  7. Like Fire
  8. Stuck in Your Head
  9. Come Down
  10. Not Ashamed
  11. Hours and Hours
  12. What I Wanted
"Where To Start" is out now. Bully's SUGAREGG album is due for release on 21 August via Sub Pop, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next