Western Stars is Springsteen's first solo record in five years, after 2014's High Hopes. It's his first album of original tracks since 2012's Wrecking Ball.

Revealing the artwork and title on Instagram, Springsteen captioned his new post, "This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements. It's a jewel box of a record."

The press release states, "the 13 tracks of Western Stars encompass a sweeping range of American themes, of highways and desert spaces, of isolation and community and the permanence of home and hope."

Western Stars will feature a wide range of collaborators, and is produced by Ron Aniello, who also plays bass, keyboard and other instruments. Other contributors include original E Street Band keyboard player David Sancious, violinist Soozie Tyrell, and organist Charlie Giordano from the current group lineup. Jon Brion (Kanye West, Fiona Apple) plays celeste, Moog, and farfisa, and Springsteen’s wife and E Street bandmate Patti Scialfa drives the vocal arrangements on four songs, as well as contributing her own vocals on others.


  1. Hitch Hikin'
  2. The Wayfarer
  3. Tucson Train
  4. Western Stars
  5. Sleepy Joe’s Café
  6. Drive Fast (The Stuntman)
  7. Chasin’ Wild Horses
  8. Sundown
  9. Somewhere North of Nashville
  10. Stones
  11. There Goes My Miracle
  12. Hello Sunshine
  13. Moonlight Motel
Bruce Springsteen's Western Stars album is due to land on 14 June via Columbia.