Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Broadside hacks Songs Without Authors Full Collage

Broadside Hacks announce compilation with Katy J Pearson and Maudlin’s take on "Willie of Winsbury"

28 July 2021, 11:38 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

London-based collective Broadside Hacks have announced their upcoming compilation Songs Without Authors Vol. 1, alongside sharing Katy J Pearson and Maudlin's reimagined version of "Willie of Winsbury".

Broadside Hacks is a London-based collective "committed to the celebration and perpetuation of folk music", and today (28 July) they've announced Songs Without Authors Vol. 1, a compilation that will feature a variety of musicians from Katy J Pearson, Pixx, Junior Brother, Lankum, Sorry, Yorkston Thorne Khan, Gently Tender, Blaenavon and more.

The lead outing from Songs Without Authors Vol. 1 is Katy J Pearson and Maudlin's reimagined version of "Willie of Winsbury". Katy J Pearson says, "The beginnings of "Willie of Winsbury" are utterly fascinating and the fact the song has survived hundreds of years is wonderful. The lyrics to me have a big feminist undertone which is very forward thinking for the 1700s."

Broadside Hacks was founded by Sorry's Campbell Baum, and was initially planned to be a club night in Camden Town, but grew into a larger project during the lockdown.

The upcoming compilation consists of various reworks/reimagined versions of traditional songs with no set origin.

Broadside Hacks say, "Songs Without Authors was put together by a mixed company of musicians who share, above all, a passion for honouring our heritage in song. The marvel of Folk music is, in our view, its ability to find relevance in all times and places, while remaining essentially local. In this way, a Folk song may remain firmly rooted in a village, town or province, while being taken up by individuals who are centuries and continents apart. They are collaborations surpassing time, place, and genre. In this compilation, we have embraced this spirit of Folk. We do not believe that these songs should be preserved in stasis: they survive by their reinvention. They are the property of everyone and no-one, and our joint inheritance."

All profits of this album will be split between Focus Ireland, Scottish Trans Alliance and Sistah Space.


  1. Sophie Harris & Maudlin - If I Were A Blackbird
  2. Shovel Dance Collective - Georgie
  3. Thyrsis - Brigg Fair
  4. Pixx & Maudlin - Barbara Allen
  5. Junior Brother - The Lambs On The Green Hills
  6. Maudlin (Feat. Powerhouse Gospel Choir) - 900 Miles / The Orphan
  7. Iona Zajac & Daragh Lynch - The Burning of Auchindoun
  8. Aga Ujma - Uwoz Mamo
  9. Yorkston Thorne Khan - The Jealous Woman
  10. Naima Bock & Maudlin - The Game Of Cards
  11. Organ Morgan - Si Bheag, Si Mhor
  12. Katy J Pearson & Maudlin - Willie of Winsbury
  13. Asha Lorenz - I Don't Feel At Home In This World
  14. Oscar Browne - Spencer The Rover
  15. Gently Tender - Ae Fond Kiss
  16. Brigid Mae Power - True Lover's Farewell
  17. Jasper Llewellyn - Melody From Jarai Love Song
Katy J Pearson and Maudlin's version of "Willie of WInsbury" is out now. Broadside Hacks' Songs Without Authors Vol. 1 compilation will be released digitally on 10 September, and physically onn 24 September. Pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next