Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Boygenius 2018

boygenius announce debut EP, share three tracks "Stay Down", "Me & My Dog", and "Bite The Hand"

21 August 2018, 14:00 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, and Lucy Dacus have teamed up as the trio boygenius. Today they announced their self-titled debut EP, and shared three tracks, "Stay Down", "Me & My Dog", and "Bite The Hand".

Baker, Bridgers and Dacus formed the three-piece through a series of chance encounters and performances, leading to their blossoming friendship, and collaboration.

Their self-titled EP will arrive this autumn. Today they reveal three tracks, "Stay Down", "Me & My Dog", and "Bite The Hand".

Baker explains more about their collaboration: "When we met, Lucy and Phoebe and I were in similar places in our lives and our musical endeavors, but also had similar attitudes toward music that engendered an immediate affinity. Lucy and Phoebe are incredibly gifted performers, and I am a fan of their art outside of being their friends, but they are also both very wise, discerning and kind people whom I look up to in character as much as in talent.”

The trio will be embarking on a US tour in November. Dacus adds: “A long time ago, before I even met Phoebe, Julien mentioned that she had a pipe dream of starting a band with both of us. Then we booked this tour and decided the time was right.

"It seemed obvious to record a 7-inch for tour," says Bridgers, "although many adult men will try to take credit for the idea. When we got together, we had way more songs than we expected and worked so well together, that we decided to make a full EP.”


  1. Bite The Hand
  2. Me & My Dog
  3. Souvenir
  4. Stay Down
  5. Salt In The Wound
  6. Ketchum, ID

While boygenius will unite for a tour together where they will each perform individual sets and provide some collaborative tracks in the encore. Bridgers, Baker and Dacus also have their own touring dates.

Baker will arrive in London on 29 September for a show at O2 Shepherd's Bush Empire, while Bridgers performs tonight (21 August) at London's Scala. Dacus will be at London's Islington Assembly Hall on 31 October.

The boygenius EP arrives on 9 November via Matador.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next