Started in 2011 by Welsh radio dj Huw Stephens, the Welsh Music Prize narrows down the best Welsh albums from a shortlist to decide the one winner of the year.

This year's shortlist included Gruff Rhys, Gwenno, Astroid Boys, Bryde, Manic Street Preachers and many more.

Boy Azooga claimed this year's award for their debut album 1,2, Kung Fu!.

When accepting the award at Cardiff's Coal Exchange, Boy Azooga frontman Davey Newington said, "This is a proper honour, with all the other amazing people nominated. Just to be part of Welsh music at the moment is exciting.”

Last year's Welsh Music Prize went to Gentle Good, a Cardiff folk singer/songwriter, for his Ruins/Adfeilion album. He performed at last night's ceremony in Cardiff.

Boy Azooga recently revealed their cover of The Table’s “Do the Standing Still”. The Welsh band plays some European and UK dates over the next couple of months. Find out more.