Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Bloc Party's Kele Okereke to release Tapes mix on !K7 Records

04 September 2013, 20:22 | Written by Hannah Mae Collins


Bloc Party have announced that they are to join the likes of Foals and Friendly Fires in releasing a Tapes mix for Berlin-based record label !K7.

Mixed by Kele Okereke, this marks another foray into dance music for the band’s frontman, who released his own club-influenced solo effort in 2010, followed by an EP.

“Our first single, ‘She’s Hearing Voices’, was very much inspired by the image of people dancing.”, Okereke told NME. “Rhythm and groove has always been important to the band and I wanted to reflect that. I guess it’s something that I’m taking further with this mix.” He added that he has “always respected” the genre.

Alongside Okereke’s remix of Bloc Party’s ‘Obscene’, the compilation will feature contributions from Koreless, Wiley and more.

Check out the full tracklist below:

1. Zia / Manifesto Meditations – ‘Intro’
2. Do Make Say Think – ‘I Love You (La La La)’
3. Tweak / Tony Allen – ‘Leroy’
4. Wiley – ‘Numbers In Action’ (Sticky Remix)
5. Wookie feat. Lain – ‘Battle’
6. French Fries – ‘Space Alarm’
7. Bloc Party – ‘Obscene’ (Kele Okereke Remix)
8. Double 99 – ‘RIP Groove’
9. Fela Kuti & Afrika 70 – ‘Shuffering & Shmiling’
10. Torske – ‘Jeg Vil Være Søppelmann’
11. Larry Heard presents Mr. White – ‘The Sun Can’t Compare’ (Long Version)
12. Cajmere – ‘Percolator’ (Jamie Jones Vault Mix)
13. Junior Boys – ‘Like A Child’ (Carl Craig Remix)
14. Vaghe Stelle – ‘The Platform’ (Samoyed Remix)
15. Jacques Greene – ‘The Look’ (Koreless Remix)

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next