Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Bloc Party announce religion-inspired "rebirth" record HYMNS

12 October 2015, 15:14 | Written by Laurence Day

Bloc Party have announced fifth full-length studio record HYMNS.

HYMNS will follow 2012's Four, and arrives as founders Kele Okereke and Russell Lissack celebrate 16 years as a band. It will be their first to feature new rhythm section Louise Bartle and Justin Harris, following the departure of longtime drummer Matt Tong and bassist Gordon Moakes.

Talking about the foundations that have lead to HYMNS, Okereke explains: “We got to a point where the lineup had to change to allow us to go forward. It was clear at the end of 2013 that it just wasn’t working. If Matt and Gordon hadn’t left, we wouldn’t have carried on as Bloc Party. It’s the most awesome job in the world, being in a band, being able to create music and art and it affect people. It makes me feel sad that I felt back then that it was something I was going to walk away from. I never want to feel like that again... I realised that I want to do this. I want to travel the world and I want to enjoy it all. In my mind, I wanted to prove something."

Lissack adds: “Bloc Party started with just Kele and I, and we used to write the songs together, and we found other people and grew from that. It feels like that’s happened again,”

In terms of sound, the pair talk about religion, Stevie Wonder, and personal and musical change as inspirations for the album, among other things. Tim Bran (London Grammar, La Roux) and Roy Kerr (The Freelance Hellraiser) have produced the album.

Last week Bloc Party revealed "The Love Within", a club-ready (yet characteristically emotive) tune with disco beats and gigantic pop motifs.

HYMNS is out via 29 January 2016 via Infectious Music/BMG.

Stream lead single "The Love Within" below, and look over the new LP's tracklist after.


01. The Love Within
02. Only He Can Heal Me
03. So Real
04. The Good News
05. Fortress
06. Different Drugs
07. Into The Earth
08. My True Name
09. Virtue
10. Exes
11. Living Lux
12. Eden (bonus track)
13. Paradiso (bonus track)
14. New Blood (bonus track)
15. Evening Song (bonus track)

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next