Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Jelly boy 2019

Happyness' Benji Compston returns as Jelly Boy, announces EP with debut track "Give Up And Gamble"

13 February 2019, 11:21 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Jelly Boy, the new solo project from Happyness' Benji Compston, announces his debut EP and shares the spirited first single, "Give Up And Gamble".

"Give Up And Gamble" gives a taster of Jelly Boy's grungy sound that finds resonance with early Yuck instrumentals and Elliott Smith's soft vocal delivery.

On his debut track, Compston explains, "I wrote this song in L.A. approaching imminent fatherhood. I think it's probably some kind of twisted-take on "what to expect when you're expecting", like a self-help-motivational-therapy song for the hopelessly ill-equipped. It's like trying to play a slot machine in the cold light of day, not noticing it's unplugged."

The new single is co-produced by Compston and Jonny Coddington (Joanna Gruesome, The Magic Gang, Ex-Vöid), and mixed and mastered by Adam Lasus (Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, Yo La Tengo).

Jelly Boy's debut EP Everybody Is A Universe was recorded on both sides of the Atlantic, with Mac DeMarco having lent his home studio in LA for tracking. Compston plays every instrument across the five tracks.


  1. Terminal Island (Everybody Is A Universe)
  2. Lavese Los Manos
  3. Give Up And Gamble
  4. Coffee Without End
  5. Fish Bandits
"Give Up And Gamble" is out now. Everybody Is A Universe lands 5 April via Cannibal Hymns. Jelly Boy tours the UK with Willie J Healey and Our Girl, and will play a free show at London's Shacklewell Arms on 14 March. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next