Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Belle Sebastian Lane crop 0492 Marisa P Murdoch

Belle and Sebastian announce new soundtrack with lead single "Sister Buddha"

01 July 2019, 12:04 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Belle and Sebastian have announced their soundtrack for Days of the Bagnold Summer, alongside revealing the lead single "Sister Buddha".

The upcoming Days of the Bagnold Summer film is based on a 2012 graphic novel by Joff Winterhart, and will also be the directorial debut of Simon Bird (The Inbetweeners, Friday Night Dinner).

Belle and Sebastian are behind the soundtrack for the upcoming film, which will feature new songs like "Sister Buddha", as well as some re-recorded classics such as "Get Me Away From Here I'm Dying" and "I Know Where The Summer Goes".

Vocalist Stuart Murdoch reveals that "Sister Buddha" wasn't written for the film, "It just came from my present interest in Buddhism. Simon picked up on it, wanting to have something uplifting at the end of movie, and we were happy for him to have it."

Days of the Bagnold Summer is due to arrive in UK cinemas in 2020, and stars Rob Brydon (Gavin & Stacey, The Trip), Monica Dolan (Eye in the Sky, The Falling, Pride), Earl Cave (The End of the F***ing World), and more.


  1. Sister Buddha (Intro)
  2. I Know Where The Summer Goes
  3. Did The Day Go Just Like You Wanted?
  4. Jill Pole
  5. I'll Keep It Inside
  6. Safety Valve
  7. The Colour's Gonna Run
  8. Another Day, Another Night
  9. Get Me Away From Here I'm Dying
  10. Wait And See What The Day Holds
  11. Sister Buddha
  12. This Letter
  13. We Were Never Glorious
Belle and Sebastian's Days of the Bagnold Summer soundtrack will be released 13 September via Matador. They host their own festival, The Boaty Weekender, in Barcelona next month. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next