Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Beach House announce new record Depression Cherry and world tour dates

26 May 2015, 15:31 | Written by Laurence Day

Beach House have confirmed that they will release their fifth studio record, Depression Cherry, this August.

They've also confirmed a series of Autumn tour dates across North America, Europe, and the UK, including a headline at London's Shepherds Bush Empire.

In the press release, they said of the record:

In general, this record shows a return to simplicity, with songs structured around a melody and a few instruments, with live drums playing a far lesser role. With the growing success of Teen Dream and Bloom, the larger stages and bigger rooms naturally drove us towards a louder, more aggressive place; a place farther from our natural tendencies. Here, we continue to let ourselves evolve while fully ignoring the commercial context in which we exist.

Here are a few quotes that we feel relate to the feeling and themes of this record:

— “I’ll never be able to be here again. As the minutes slide by, I move on. The flow of time is something I cannot stop. I haven’t a choice. I go. One caravan has stopped, another starts up. There are people I have yet to meet, others I’ll never see again. People who are gone before you know it, people who are just passing through. Even as we exchange hellos, they seem to grow transparent. I must keep living with the flowing river before my eyes.” - from Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto

— “We inhabit a world in which the future promises endless possibilities and the past lies irretrievably behind us. The arrow of time… is the medium of creativity in terms of which life can be understood.” - from The Arrow of Time by Peter Coveney and Roger Highfield

— “Mostly it is loss which teaches us about the worth of things.” - from Parerga and Paralipomena by Arthur Schopenhauer

— “Hark, now hear the sailors cry, feel the air and see the sky, let your soul and spirit fly, into the mystic……

….when the fog horn blows, i want to hear it, i don’t have to fear it” - from “Into the Mystic” by Van Morrison

For us, Depression Cherry is a colour, a place, a feeling, an energy… that describes the place you arrive as you move through the endlessly varied trips of existence…

Depression Cherry will be released on 28 August via Bella Union. It's the follow up to 2012's Bloom.

Check out the record's artwork and tracklist, and the band's upcoming UK/EU shows, below.


1. Levitation
2. Sparks
3. Space Song
4. Beyond Love
5. 10:37
6. PPP
7. Wildflower
8. Bluebird
9. Days of Candy


24 - Belfast, UK - Mandela Hall
25 - Dublin, IE - Vicar Street
26 - Glasgow, UK - ABC
27 - Manchester, UK - The Ritz
29 - Paris, FR - Pitchfork Music Festival
30 - London, UK - Shepherds Bush Empire


2 - Amsterdam, NL - Paradiso
3 - Brussels, BE - Autumn Falls @ AB
4 - Koln, DE - Gloria
5 - Luxemborg, LU - Den Atelier
7 - Reykjavik, IS - Iceland Airwaves
10 - Oslo, NO - Sentrum Scene
11 - Gothenburg, SE - Tradgarn
12 - Stockholm, SE - Debaser Medis
13 - Copenhagen DK - Vega
14 - Hamburg, DE - Kampnagel K1
16 - Berlin, DE - Huxley’s
17 - Munich, DE - Freiheiz
18 - Lausanne, CH - Les Docks
20 - Barcelona, ES - Apolo
22 - Madrid, ES - La Riviera
23 - Lisbon, PT - Armazén
24 - Porto, PT - Teatro sa da Bandeira

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next