Arctic Monkeys have confirmed they’ll release a new album this year, featuring a “heavier sound”.

The Sheffield band, who put out their last effort Suck It and See in 2011, will release their fifth studio release during 2013.

Drummer Matt Helders confirmed the news to BBC and said that the release will follow the sonic path of songs such as ’R U Mine?’.

The record is said to have been recorded in the desert last year.