“Thievery” is darkly melodic, with ice-cavern stabs and squirmy electronics that sound like Clanger death rattles. It’s jittery and glitchy with a netherworld disco feel, and if it’s any indicator of the producer’s debut, then it makes us very excited indeed.

We’ve been waiting a while for Arca’s first full-length, since he’s been tantalising us with myriad shortform releases for a while, like last year’s &&&&& tape. Alejandro Ghersi’s recent knob-twiddling work with Mercury-nommed FKA twigs and the rap maverick Kanye West haven’t been half bad neither.


1. Now You Know
2. Held Apart
3. Xen
4. Sad Bitch
5. Sisters
6. Slit Thru
7. Failed
8. Family Violence
9. Thievery
10. Lonely Thugg
11. Fish
12. Wound
13. Bullet Chained
14. Tongue
15. Promise

Stream “Thievery” below, and check out his current tour dates afterwards.

DJ Tour with Total Freedom & Jesse Kanda (Visuals)


18 - Fashion Tech - Portland, OR
20 - Dome at Science World - Vancouver, BC
23 - Gray Area Art & Technology Theater - San Francisco, CA
24 - EMP Sky Church - Seattle, WA
25 - First Unitarian Church - Los Angeles, CA

Xen is released 3 November on Mute.