Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Anna Von Hausswolff unveils 10-minute "doomscape", announces new LP The Miraculous

20 August 2015, 10:48 | Written by Laurence Day

Anna Von Hausswolff has announced a new record called The Miraculous, and unveiled its 10-minute lead cut, which is part-cover, and part-original song.

The track, "Come Wander With Me/Deliverance", features an entire original song within the confines of a cover of the original "Come Wander With Me" by Jeff Alexander & Anthony Wilson (which was composed for an episode of The Twilight Zone).

Speaking about the cut, Von Hausswolff says: "‘Come Wander with Me’ was presented to me by a friend and it became one of my favorite songs. I decided to make a cover of it. The lyrics and the feeling of the song seduced me into this mystical yet romantic landscape. It deals with the idealisation of a world that you yearn to know, and the fear and frustration that one might never be able to fully exploit that place due to physical and emotional limitations. It’s about longing and dreaming, while facing the reality of obligations and doubt. Every time we played it, it grew bigger and bigger and another song started to take shape. That song became 'Deliverance'.”

The Swedish artist has delved into a rich seam of folk tradition and exotic instrumentation. It draws heavily from a location from her childhood which "once provided the backdrop for a momentous uprising against the country’s king during which thousands of peasants were slaughtered, leaving its landscapes bathed in blood." The press release adds that "it became, to her, a place of mystery, magic and terror, and, though she won’t say where it is, she still returns repeatedly, if sometimes only in her imagination. She calls the place Miraculous."

The Miraculous makes use of the lore as well as the Acusticum Pipe Organ in Piteå, Northern Sweden. It's a unique instrument with 9000 pipes, and has a variety of unusual features: a built-in glockenspiel, vibraphone, celeste, percussion , as well as something Von Hausswolff describes as “a screaming bird sound” created by “pipes half covered in water”.

The album was recorded with her full band, and mixed in keyboarder/synther Filip Leyman's Gothenburg studio.

The Miraculous is out 13 November via City Slang. It's the follow up to 2012 "funeral pop" LP Ceremony.

Von Hausswolff is set to play a show at London's Royal Festival Hall as part of David Byrne's Meltdown Festival tomorrow nigh (21 August).

Stream "Come Wander With Me/Deliverance" below. The LP's tracklist is afterwards.


1. Discovery
2. The hope only of empty men
3. Pomperipossa
4. Come wander with me / Deliverance
5. En ensam vandrare
6. An Oath
7. Evocation
8. The Miraculous
9. Stranger

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next