The duo - Norwegian vocalist Anna Lotterud and New Zealand producer Brady Daniell-Smith - have already shared a fair amount of music together as Anna Of The North, but only "Baby" makes the final tracklist for the album. That's definitely okay though - if the rest of the noises on the long-player are as good as "Lovers" we're in for one helluva treat.

Lovers was recorded in Oslo and mixed by Luke Smith (Foals, Depeche Mode) in Copenhagen and London.

"The song describes that point when you feel alone and you're reaching out but they're not reaching back," explains Lotterud. "Maybe you could get through to them if they just let you in, but the promises they made are broken."

"[It's] speaking of the emptiness of the unrealistic promises we make to each other at the start of relationships," adds Daniell-Smith. "Those promises that we can't possibly keep like 'I'll always be there for you' and 'I'll never leave'."

Anna Of The North have a bunch of live dates planned for the summer, including sets at British Summer Time Festival in London on 2 July (supporting Justin Bieber) and at Blissfields a few days after. Lotterud and Daniell-Smith will also play a headline date at London's Omeara on 26 September. Find out more.


  1. Moving On
  2. Someone
  3. Lovers
  4. Money
  5. Always
  6. Feels
  7. Baby
  8. Friends
  9. Fire
  10. All I Want
Lovers is out 8 September via Different Recordings.