Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

AIM Independent Music Awards 2013 announce winners

04 September 2013, 10:50 | Written by Luke Morgan Britton

Indie music celebratory event, the AIM Independent Music Awards took place last night (3 September) at a ceremony in London hosted by Huw Stephens and Steve Lamacq, with all the 2013 winners now confirmed.

Among the list of winning acts, Daughter fought off tough competition for the ‘Independent Album Of The Year’ prize, while The xx picked up ‘Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album’. Enter Shikari won ‘Best Live Act’, Frankie & The Heartstrings took home the ‘Hardest Working Band’ mantle and Vampire Weekend claimed ‘Independent Track Of The Year’.

Elsewhere, Warp came up top for best indie label, while Alcopop! Records triumphed in the ‘Best Small Label’ category. You can find the full list of winners beneath:

Best Live Act (voted for by visitors to Enter Shikari
Independent Breakthrough Of The Year (in association with 7digital): Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Hardest Working Band Or Artist: Frankie & The Heartstrings
Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album (in association with XFM): The xx – ‘Co-exist’
Independent Album Of The Year (in association with Record Store Day): Daughter – ‘If You Leave’
Best Small Label (in association with Disc Manufacturing Services): Alcopop! Records
PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act: Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Special Catalogue Release Of The Year (in association with Amazon): Various Artists – Scared To Get Happy : A Story of Indie Pop 1980 – 89
Independent Label Of The Year (in association with Coutts): Warp
Independent Track Of The Year (in association with Spotify) : Vampire Weekend – ‘Diane Young’
Independent Video Of The Year (in association with Vevo): Django Django – ‘WOR’
Indie Champion Award (in association with Consolidated Independent): Gilles Peterson – BBC 6music
Golden Welly Award (in association with UK Music, AIF + This Is Fake DIY): In The Woods
Special Recognition Award: Steve Lamacq – BBC 6music
Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with eMusic): Billy Bragg
Pioneer Award (in association with Nokia Music): Geoff Travis, Rough Trade

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next