Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Kate Bollinger debut album

Kate Bollinger announces debut album, Songs From A Thousand Frames of Mind

30 May 2024, 17:24 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

LA-based multidisciplinary artist Kate Bollinger has announced her long-awaited debut album, Songs From A Thousand Frames Of Mind, alongside the lead single, "Any Day Now".

"My good friend Matt [E. White] was visiting from Virginia and we got together to play some music. We wrote this song and then drove around Los Angeles together. That same day he helped me realise the kind of record I wanted to make, which I subconsciously knew but couldn't really find the words for until then,” Bollinger explains.

“A few months later, I recorded the song at Sam's [Evian] place in upstate New York with a band we put together. We spent the first day practicing the songs. The next day we recorded the first two songs, ‘Any Day’ Now being the second one. We did it all live in the room, no headphones or click, done in the spirit of most of my favorite music from the late 60s."

Written during a period of transience and change, Songs From A Thousand Frames Of Mind was made to resemble a mixtape—something carefully crafted and delivered from just one person to another. In sharing this music with listeners, Bollinger took inspiration from her own formative encounters with art: quietly worshiping the early musical projects of her older brothers, attending local shows in Charlottesville and feeling empowered to write songs of her own, inheriting burned CDs from older classmates and finding a portal to another world.


  1. What’s This About (La La La La)
  2. To Your Own Devices
  3. Any Day Now
  4. God Interlude
  5. Lonely
  6. Running
  7. In A Smile
  8. Postcard From A Cloud
  9. I See It Now
  10. Sweet Devil
  11. All This Time

Songs From A Thousand Frames of Mind is set for release on 27 September via Ghostly International.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next